Whole30…what am I doing???

Hi! Happy Thursday! So…here’s something, I’m on day 11 of The Whole30! I KNOW! Pick your jaw up off the floor and let’s talk about it.

  • What is the Whole30?
    Whole30 is basically an elimination diet, a nutritional experiment if you will. For 30 days you cut certain food groups COMPLETELY that are common irritants to people with autoimmune disease, digestive issues, sensativities, intolerances, allergies, and more. It’s 30 days of strict elimination followed by 10 days of careful reintegration and paying close attention to how your body responds. It’s a learning tool. The idea is that if done correctly, at the end of 40 days you will have very powerful knowledge about how your body tolerates certain foods.
  • Have I been suffering from these things?
    I don’t think so. I seem to have an iron stomach, not much upsets me. I do get a little yucky feeling these days when I consume ANY processed white grains (think white pasta, white bread, white tortilla, pizza crust, etc.) or when I eat too much sugar, but I’m very glad I feel that way because I don’t need that garbage in my body anyway. I can make whatever I want at home with healthy whole grains and I have my go-to restaurants that are enlightened and part of the 21st century that offer healthier options.
  • What is eliminated?
    Well, this is a very paleo friendly program. SO NOT ME, y’all know I am a borderline vegetarian, I hate the taste and texture of most meat. I LIVE FOR DAIRY! And peanut butter is from heaven! I can’t have anything I love except fruit!
    -No dairy
    -No legumes (peanuts are a legume, not a nut!)
    -No sugar
    -No alcohol
    -No grains
    -Did I mention NO DAIRY?
  • Why am I doing this?
    Well, there are several reasons. Topping the list is the fact that I’ve researched it for over a year now and have been recommending it to all my clients and friends whit autoimmune disorders, anxiety, depression, and a host of other symptoms they want gone. I believe it’s a great place to start if not finish! I’ve never been one to expect another person to do anything I have not or would not do, so it was time to suck it up and put myself through the misery I’ve been suggesting to others just so I can help them through it when they’re ready. While I felt fantastic before I started, I am hoping to reap some of the benefits many people see completing this program. Here are just a few;
    -Clearer, glowing skin
    -Healthier hair and nails
    -Flatter stomach
    -Looking younger
    -Weight loss (I’m no longer chasing this one, but thought I’d throw it in here to entice all of you…along with improved symptoms of medical conditions)
    -Healthier gums
    -More regular cycle for women
    -Less seasonal allergies
    -Improved circulation
    -Happier mood
    -More relaxed
    -Better able to handle stress
    -Improved attention span
    -Improved mental and physical performance
    -Better sleep
    -Higher energy levels (I’ve already made myself into an energy machine, but who doesn’t want more right?!!!)
    -Faster workout recovery time
    -Healthier relationship with food
    -Break the sugar habit
    -Gain nutritional knowledge
    These are just to name a few, it’s all outlined in the book, The Whole30.
  • How’s it going?
    I’m not going to lie. It’s HARD for me. I’m supposed to eat meat…eh, fish…NOPE NEVER YUCK, eggs…UGH, vegetables…I suppose, and fruit YUM! I can also have nuts but boy do you have to be careful! Did you know any old bag of nuts at the grocery store contains peanut oil or soybean oil?!!! So you have to find RAW nuts. And that’s about it! Oh and I can have potatoes, but no butter, no cheese, none of what makes them so yummy! And I’m not going to be one of those people who tell you almond butter tastes like peanut butter…LIES!!!! But I am on day 11 and if you know me, you know I will make it to the end! I do not quit.
  • Is Shakeology Whole30 compliant?
    Well, technically no, but for some silly reasons (especially if you don’t think you have any digestive/autoimmune issues). Shakeology, the vegan formula, contains pea protein, and rice protein along with pure stevia leaf. All totally great nutrition…but not technically allowed during the whole 30. That being said, I am making that ONE exception to the rule. Other people have to make exceptions for medications and so on. I thought it through, talked with several other Health & Fitness Coaches, and Whole30 Alumns and came to this decision. I could not justify giving up something even for a month that has done SO MUCH GOOD for my health! Shakeology has changed my life and I will NEVER be able to come close to that level of nutrition without getting it from Shakeology, so I’m having vegan chocolate (limiting myself to one a day instead of my frequent two per day), and mixing it with water and almond milk instead of my lovely skim milk that I miss every second of every day right now. It’s also the only food I look forward to at the moment since I’m so far from Paleo friendly!

    So, long story short. I’m doing this. I’m miserable and excited all at the same time and can’t wait to start the trial and error of reintegrating foods after 30 days. I will give an update soon and again at the end! I’m sure this is much easier for carnivores, but I’m so far from that!

    Have you done The Whole30? Have you considered it? Please comment with questions, I’d love to hear your thoughts and see if I can shed some light on your questions!

 

Leave a Reply

