Transformation Tuesday…Taco Tuesday Edition

Hi. Happy Tuesday. I’m more than ashamed to admit that before getting my nutrition in check, you know…back when I was 35 pounds heavier and a soldier unable to meet the Army standards, Taco Tuesday used to mean Taco Bell. I know, even my least healthy of friends and co-workers would ridicule me and tell me that wasn’t real meat (ironically as they headed for McDonald’s as if we’re sure that’s grass fed beef???). The funny thing is…they were right! I wasn’t a fan of meat so the brown mystery product didn’t bother me then. Once I started to take control of my health and learn about nutrition, I realized just how scary a mystery product can be! I’m a day late for Halloween here…but IT’S SCARY!

Did you ever go there and hope that your food didn’t look like this???
taco-bell

Yeah, me too! I don’t think cheese is supposed to look that way either. And why should I pay extra for tomato?

The good news, I now make my own tacos on Tuesdays and I control what goes in them. I know for a fact that I’m using organic, vegetarian fed,  free range turkey, I know what’s in the ancient grains tortilla I use, and it’s not some sort of strange flour tortilla. I can add my own healthy flair with avocado oil and chia seeds. I can serve it with REAL cheese, and whatever veggies I choose! The great thing is…it ends up being cheaper than what I used to spend at Taco Bell (or as my McDonald’s loving health nut friends used to call it, Toxic Hell, Taco Hell, Toilet Bell…I could go on and on). Here is what my delicious, well balanced Taco Tuesday looks like now. I often even use spinach instead of lettuce, but tonight I didn’t because I already had a good bit of spinach today.
taco-tuesday

 

If you ask me, mine actually looks like REAL FOOD and theirs…well, not so much! I’m so proud of the fact that I’ve come so far that you actually would have to pay me quite a bit to go eat the types of things I used to eat. The thought of it upsets my stomach and when I drive by it’s not even the least bit tempting. I’ve even driven by STARVING before in search of a GNC so I can pick up a Kind Bar or Quest Bar (yes, healthy bars are more REAL than fast food), a store where I could get some water and nuts, or a Panera Bread where I could get something that at least resembles real food.

THINK BEFORE YOU EAT KIDS! SAVE TIME AND MONEY BY MAKING IT YOURSELF. PLAN AND PREP AND YOU CAN HAVE 10 MINUTE MEALS ON THE DIME!!!! ALL WHILE TAKING YOUR HEALTH AND FITNESS TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL!!!! HAPPY TRANSFORMATION TACO TUESDAY! ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

