Why Do I Run???

Hi! It’s been a while. I’m sorry, we’ve been pretty busy around here! I was having an amazing conversation this evening with an amazing corporate mentor about my goals..and as so often happens when I’m anywhere near, the conversation turned to running! He noticed my face light up and commented. That has had me thinking a lot about my passion for running throughout the rest of the evening. Let’s talk about that. Why do I run?

SPOILER ALERT: IT’S NOT TO BE THIN!

 

If you’ve read some of my previous blog posts, you’ll know that I did not always like running, in fact, I hated it. I was not always good at it. I was once a soldier who could not pass the PT test and was overweight by the Army standard. It was not a fun point in my life. I doubted my military career. I doubted myself. I doubted my own decision making abilities. Then Thank God I made a friend…a running friend. I thought when he asked me to run with him, why the heck not, I need to run more if I’m ever going to pass my PT test. I started out hoping to get faster and lose weight. I lost a little bit of weight, but not enough to make a difference to Uncle Sam. At first, I didn’t love it. It was hard, I was out of shape and out of breath! BUT I NEVER GAVE UP! I trailed behind Adam wanting so badly to say “I can’t” they words were on the TIP OF MY TONGUE but you know….I could NEVER get them out. I just kept chugging along behind him! After a short time I got much faster. I was no track star, YET but I was doing a lot better. I even started to enjoy it a little bit.

Then that same friend, Adam gave me a copy of P90X. I thought he was crazy. I couldn’t even get through the warm up. BUT just like running…I kept trying my best. Bit by bit, I got STRONGER. I got FASTER. I got SMALLER! Thirty-five pounds smaller to be exact. I was running and LOVING it. I was no longer failing my PT tests, but MAXING them. I was confident, comfortable in my own skin, glowing! Or at least I felt like it!

I kept running. I no longer needed to lose weight, in fact, at one point I’d gone maybe a tiny bit too far for my comfort. It had long since quit being about weight. I had fallen in love! I MEAN HEAD OVER HEELS. It’s been 8 years and there is NO TURNING BACK! I’m PRETTY FAST now. I am strong, I have endurance to run fairly long distances. I run hills, flats, trails, tracks, roads. I run in the summer, the fall, the winter, the spring. I run in sun, rain, wind, snow. I don’t care! If I can make the time, I’m running!

So why do I run??? BECAUSE I CAN! It makes me feel literally like a bird. Like I’m flying. Like I’m FREE! Free from all the chaos, all the hurt, all the anger, all the stress, free from all the daily grind. It’s just plain FUN! It’s my therapy, my escape, my “me-time.” It’s something I do to put a smile on my face. I can’t describe the feeling but from the very first foot in front of the other at a quick pace, I feel ALIVE! Call it passion, call it runners high, call it crazy. I don’t care! I call it LIVING!

Why do you run? If you’re not a runner and you’re capable…why don’t you run???

Leave a Reply

